Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Hoogervorst Appointed Chair of IASB; Macintosh Vice-Chair

Earlier today, the IFRS Foundation (formerly called the IASCF) announced 2 key appointments:

  • Hans Hoogervorst to succeed Sir David Tweedie as Chairman of IASB, effective at the end of June, 2011, upon Sir David’s retirement. Hoogervorst currently chairs Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM), is chairman of Technical Committee of IOSCO, and co-chaired the FASB-IASB Financial Crisis Advisory Group with Harvey Goldschmid, former SEC Commissioner. (Goldschmid was named this year to the IFRS Foundation; and is one of the keynote speakers at FEI's annual Current Financial Reporting Issues (CFRI) Conference, Nov. 15-16 in NYC.)
  • Ian Macintosh as Vice Chairman of IASB. Macintosh formerly served as Chief Accountant of the Australian Securities Investment Commission, and is a member of the IASB’s Standing Advisory Council.

The direct link to the IFRS Foundation's press release is: http://www.ifrs.org/News/Press+Releases/chairman+appointment.htm

News Broke On Academic Listserv
Props to former FASB Chairman and current Univ. of GA professor (and member of PCAOB Standing Advisory Group) Denny Beresford, who posted the IFRS Foundation's news earlier today on the AECM listserv (a listserve founded by academics, which is mainly directed at issues of interest to academics, including practical issues; practitioners and others can also sign up. There is also a separate listserv mainly focused on practitioner issues called the CPAs-L listserv.).

Print this post

No comments: